Thursday, October 30, 2008

Dr. Alexander Voishvillo Of JBL Awarded AES Fellowship

JBL Professional is proud to announce that Dr. Alexander Voishvillo was recently awarded AES (Audio Engineering Society) Fellowship for his research in modeling and assessing the nonlinearities of horn drivers and other audio equipment. Dr. Voishvillo’s work at JBL is in the area of design and development of all new high-frequency professional transducers, several of which are patent pending. While at JBL, Dr. Voishvillo has also published and presented several research works on complex relationships between the subjective perception of nonlinear distortion by the human auditory system and various methods of objective assessment of nonlinearity in audio equipment.

“It is an honor and privilege to receive the AES Fellowship, a once-in-a-lifetime event,” said Alexander.

Dr. Voishvillo has been granted several U.S. patents on new types of transducers. He is the author and co-author of numerous publications on loudspeakers, including the engineering book on loudspeaker theory and design, High Quality Loudspeaker Systems and Transducers, published in Russia in 1985, as well as papers published in the Journal of the Audio Engineering Society on assessment of nonlinearity in audio equipment. He has also presented several papers on the subject of nonlinear effects in horn drivers.

Alexander was born and raised in the family of a radio-electronic engineer and educator in Leningrad (now Saint Petersburg), Russia. He received a Ph.D. degree in 1987 for work centered on computer optimization of loudspeaker crossover systems, and worked at the Laboratory of Prospective Research and Development, Popov Research Institute for Radio and Acoustics, Saint Petersburg.

Dr. Voishvillo is a member of the Audio Engineering Society and participates in an AES Standards Committee working group on loudspeaker measurements and modeling. For the last several years he has been an active member of the JAES Review Board.

Other JBL AES Fellows include Doug Button, Mark Gander and the late John Eargle.

No comments: